Chicago Cubs take the postseason


On October 5, 2003, the Chicago Cubs claimed their first postseason series since the 1908 World Series, beating the Atlanta Braves three games to two in the National League Division Series.

Game five was a 5-1 victory for the Cubs. Kerry Wood being awarded the win at Turner Field in Atlanta.

Video source: Jeff Agrest on Youtube

The Cubs went on to the National League Championship Series where they lost four games to three against the Florida Marlins. They have since made postseason appearances in 2007, ’08 and ’15.

The Cubs were able to get into World Series seven times between 1909 and 1945 but were unable to bring the title back to Chicago.

Major League Baseball started holding a Championship series for both the American and National League in 1969. The Cubs played in 1984 and ’89. The NLDS and ALDS were first played in 1995. The lovable losers failed to get through round one in 1998.

This week, the Cubs are gearing up for the NLDS for the fourth time in 13 years. Their opponent will be determined tonight in a single game elimination game for the NL Wild Card featuring the New York Mets and San Francisco Giants.

The 103-58 Cubs have their shot at reversing curses set by a billy goat, a black cat and Babe Ruth, among others. Wrigleyville has become packed with both lifelong and fair weather fans who are waiting to see if this really is “our year.”

If you enjoyed this article and would like to see more like it, follow me on Twitter @TodayInSport365

Chicago Cubs postseason results


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s